GEC logoP. O. Box 2443
Brunswick, Georgia 31521
Phone: 912-466-0934
Email:                                  Search this site:

  This free script provided by JavaScript Kit

using:  Google: Yahoo: MSN:

Home    About Us    Activities    News    Campaigns    Press Room   Donate or Join


GEC Celebrates 15 Years


The Glynn Environmental Coalition celebrated 15 years of service to our community at the June 14th annual membership meeting, elected Board and Officers for 2005-6, and presented service awards.
   A William T. Lipscomb Science Fair Award was established honoring GECís recently deceased Secretary.  The award will be presented to the student whose science fair project best epitomizes concern and hope for a clean environment and healthy economy for coastal Georgia.  Bill Lipscomb was a professor at Coastal Georgia Community College until his retirement, and was working towards having the GEC establish an award for outstanding science fair projects in grades 6 through 12, at the time of his death in February of this year. 
   A plaque was awarded to Frank Lea for his 3 years of service as GEC President, and Certificates of Appreciation were presented to Dave Kyler for 3 years of service as GEC Vice-President, to Darrell Gossett for 2 years of service on the Board, and to Joel Myers for outstanding performance in environmental justice organizing in the Arco community.  Tokens of appreciation were presented to Hoke and Pam Brannen, Barbara Bowdry, Clyde Williams, and Robert Randall.
   With the new Board and Officers installed and business concluded, dinner and entertainment with the membership filled out the night.  Crickett Allen, Bo Foxx, and Bill Owens provided entertainment.  Bill Owens, incoming GEC President, shared his rendition of Tom Lehrerís  ďPollutionĒ,  tailored for Glynn County.

   A big thank-you goes out to Paul Redding and Robert Randall for their help raising the canopy and preparing for the meeting.  There were a few tense moments as thunderstorms moved in, but they left us with relief from the dayís heat and perfect conditions for the GECís 15th anniversary membership meeting.



GEC 2005-6 Officers and Board

President: Bill Owens         
Vice-Pres.:  Frank Lea         
Secretary:  Stephen Ryner
Treasurer:  Hoke Brannen
TAG Treasurer: Luanne Lea
Env. Justice Grant Treasurer: Barbara Bowdry
At-Large Members:  Joel Myers
                                Charles DesEnfants
                                Paul Redding                                   
                                Jody Pollard
                                Eileen Hutcheson
Organizational Reps:
                                Center For A Sustainable Coast:  Dave Kyler
                                Driftwood Educational Center:  Ann Marie Wilson
                                McIntosh SEED:  Suzanne Kempke



Contact Us        Links        Join Now